Dr. Shippen Named Distinguished Professor

May 8, 2019

Texas A&M University has awarded its highest faculty honor by bestowing seven scholars with the title of Distinguished Professor.

The designation identifies faculty members who are preeminent in their fields and who have made at least one landmark contribution to their discipline. Their research and advancements are considered central to any narrative of the field. Past recipients of the lifetime title participate in the selection process, growing the ranks of Distinguished Professors by just a handful of scholars each year.

For 2019, the new University Distinguished Professors are:

Francois P. Gabbaï, Department of Chemistry, College of Science

Roger E. Howe, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture, College of Education and Human Development

Valerie M. Hudson, Department of International Affairs, The Bush School of Government and Public Service

Richard Miles, Department of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering

Dorothy Shippen, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Jörg M. Steiner, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Kirk O. Winemiller, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

The seven new university distinguished professors were inducted at a ceremony on May 8 recognizing them and honoring all of the University Distinguished Professors. Dr. Shippen’s lab surprised her with flowers for her success in becoming a Distinguished Professor. Congratulations, Dr. Shippen!