Professor John Mullet, in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics has been selected as one of the 2024 University Distinguished Professors, representing excellence in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.  Dr. Mullet is the Perry Adkisson Chair in Agricultural Biology in the Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics.  He is also a member of the Interdisciplinary Program’s in Genetics and Molecular and Environmental Plant Sciences.  He earned a Ph.D. in Cellular Biology in 1980 from the University of Illinois. He was the Director of the Texas A&M University Crop Biotechnology Center and Institute for Plant Genomics and Biotechnology from 1993-2005. His research is currently focused on climate mitigation and energy security through the development of bioenergy sorghum using genetic, biochemical and biophysical approaches.  At the time of his selection, Dr. Mullet had published over 200 papers in peer-reviewed venues and had been thesis advisor for 30 Ph.D. students. Dr. Mullet has secured over $20M in grant funding from the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, Department of Energy, the USDA-NIFA and industry. He has received the Association of Former Student’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Research, the Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Award for Interdisciplinary Team Research and the Director’s Superior Grantsmanship Award.  His groundbreaking contributions to molecular biology have not only advanced the understanding of cellular processes but have also paved the way for transformative advancements in biotechnology and medicine. Through his visionary research and dedication to scholarly excellence, Professor Mullet epitomizes the profound impact of academic leadership within his discipline and the broader university community. Click link to read more.

From Left to Right- Vice Chancellor and Dean Jeff Savell, University Distinguished Professor Dr. John Mullet, University Distinguished Professor and Head of Department Dr. Josh Wand.